Competition Jury 2019

Sophie Fiennes

Jury Member

Sophie Fiennes is an award-winning film and documentary maker, who uses non-fiction to create films that are artworks in themselves. She has worked on cinema and television projects, collaborating with Peter Greenaway, Slavoj Žižek and Grace Jones. Her work has been screened and distributed from Cannes official selection to Toronto and Sundance, and her piece Over Your Cities Grass Will Grow, has been described by Peter Bradshaw in The Guardian as, “a deeply serious meditation on artistic practice and expression.” She was awarded a NESTA fellowship in 2001, to develop her innovative approach to film, and the Arte France Cinema Award in 2008, at Rotterdam’s Cinemart.

Vicky Richardson

Jury Member

Vicky Richardson is an architectural writer and curator and an Honorary Fellow of the RIBA. She was previously Director of Architecture, Design and Fashion at the British Council and Commissioner of the British Pavilion at Venice Architecture Biennale. Vicky lectures on architecture and cities and is a thesis supervisor on the MA in Historical and Sustainable Architecture at NYU (London) and a guest lecturer at the RCA.

Phineas Harper &            Matea Vlaskalic

Jury Members

Phineas Harper is Deputy Director of the Architecture Foundation think tank and Chief Curator of the 2019 Oslo Architecture Triennale. Matea Vlaskalic is a graduate of psychology with a Masters in European studies. She helps run the Architecture Foundation’s Architecture on Film series which has been presenting a diverse variety of cinema exploring to architecture and urbanism for over ten years.